Patrick Strange
Jon Hartley
Prue Flacks
Murray Jordan
Jack Matthews
Anne Urlwin
Mark Cross
Kate McKenzie

Patrick Strange, BE (Hons), PhD 

Chairman; Director since 6 April 2015; independent

Dr Patrick Strange has spent 30 years working as a senior executive and director in both private and listed companies, including more than six years as Chief Executive of Transpower where he oversaw Transpower’s $3.8 billion of essential investment in the National Grid.

Patrick is currently a director of Mercury NZ, NZX Limited, Auckland International Airport and on the board of Essential Energy Australia.

Patrick is chairman of our Nominations and Corporate Governance Committee

Jon Hartley, BA Econ Accounting (Hons), Fellow ICA (England & Wales), Associate ICA (Australia), Fellow AICD 

Deputy Chairman; Director since 1 December 2011; independent

Jon is a Chartered Accountant and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He has held senior roles across a diverse range of commercial and not for profit organisations in several countries, including as chairman of SkyCity, deputy chairman of ASB Bank, director of Mighty River Power, CEO of Brierley New Zealand and Solid Energy, and CFO of Lend Lease in Australia. 

Jon is currently deputy chairman of Sovereign Assurance Company, chairman of VisionFund International and the Wellington City Mission and a trustee of World Vision New Zealand.  Jon is also a shareholder advisor to Kaingaroa Timberlands Limited, a member of the Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment’s Risk Advisory Committee, and a member of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade International Development Commercial Advisory Panel.

Jon is on our Audit and Risk Management Committee and our Nominations and Corporate Governance Committee.

Prue Flacks, LLB, LLM 

Director since 1 December 2011; independent

Prue is a director of Bank of New Zealand and Mercury NZ.

She is a barrister and solicitor with extensive experience in commercial law and, in particular, banking, finance and securities law.

Her areas of expertise include corporate and regulatory matters, corporate finance, capital
markets, securitisation and business restructuring. Prue is a consultant to Russell McVeagh, where she was previously a partner for 20 years.

Prue is chairman of our Human Resources and Compensation Committee and on our Nominations and Corporate Governance Committee.

Murray Jordan, MProp 

Director since 1 September 2015; independent

Murray has extensive experience in the management of highly customer focused organisations and in navigating extremely complex stakeholder environments, including as Managing Director of Foodstuffs North Island, one of New Zealand's largest companies.

Murray has also previously held various general manager positions at Foodstuffs and management roles in the property investment and development sectors.  He is a director of Metcash Limited, an ASX listed company, SkyCity and Stevenson Group, and a Board Trustee of Starship Foundation.

Murray is on our Human Resources and Compensation Committee.

Jack Matthews, B.A. Philosophy, College of William and Mary 

Director since 1 July 2017; independent

Jack is an experienced director who has held a number of senior leadership positions within the media, telecommunications and technology industries in Australia and New Zealand.

Most recently, Jack was CEO of Fairfax Media’s Metro Division where he was responsible for managing and integrating the print, online and mobile assets of The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age and The Canberra Times. Prior to that, Jack was CEO of Fairfax Digital, Chief Operating Officer of Jupiter TV (Japan) and CEO of TelstraSaturn based in Wellington.

Jack is currently the chairman of MediaWorks, and a director of Trilogy International, The Network for Learning and APN Outdoor Group and a former director of Crown Fibre Holdings Limited. 

Jack is on our Human Resources and Compensation Committee.

Anne Urlwin, BCom, FCA, CFInstD, MAICD, FNZIM, ACIS 

Director since 1 December 2011; independent

Anne has extensive directorship experience across many sectors, including energy, health, construction, regulatory services, internet infrastructure, research, banking, forestry and the primary sector, as well as education, sports administration and the arts.

She is chairman of commercial construction group Naylor Love Enterprises and a director of Southern Response Earthquake Services, Steel & Tube Holdings, OnePath Life (NZ), and Summerset Group. Anne is also independent chairman of the Ngāi Tahu Te Rūnanga Audit and Risk Committee, the former chairman of Lakes Environmental, the New Zealand Blood Service, internet domain name registry operator NZRS and a former director of Meridian Energy.

Anne is chairman of our Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Mark Cross, BBS, CA 

Director since 1 November 2016; independent

Mark has extensive corporate finance experience, both as a professional director and consultant, and during his earlier investment banking career.

Mark has held senior positions with Deutsche Bank in London and Australia, and prior to that at Lloyds Corporate Finance/Southpac Corporation in Australia and New Zealand.

Mark is currently chairman of Milford Asset Management, MFL Mutual Fund and Superannuation Investments, and a director of Z Energy, Argosy Property and Genesis Energy.  He is also a board member of Triathlon NZ.

Mark is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and the New Zealand Institute of Directors.

Mark is on our Audit and Risk Management Committee

Kate McKenzie, BA, LLB 

Director since 20 February 2017; non-independent

Kate has an extensive communications infrastructure background, most recently as Telstra Australia’s Chief Operations Officer, responsible for Telstra’s field services, IT and network architecture and operations. Prior to that, Kate also held other senior positions at Telstra including Group Managing Director, Innovation, Products and Marketing, Group Managing Director, Wholesale, and Group Managing Director, Regulatory, Public Policy and Communications.

Prior to joining Telstra, Kate was a CEO in the NSW Government of the Departments of Commerce, Industrial Relations and the Workcover Authority.

Kate is currently on the board of Allianz, having previously been on the boards of Foxtel, Sydney Water, Reach, CSL and Workcover. She is also a member of Chief Executive Women and has had a long history of involvement in promoting the interests of indigenous communities.

Back to top